On Writing

Hello Reader! Sorry about the sporadic postings here. I’m quite the busy momma bear. Between coursework for my psychology degree and the various jobs I hold, I am also currently working on a book. It’s a mixed fiction and non-fiction based on the experiences of my grandfather who served in the first World War. I recently found a trunk of his things when I cared for my disabled mother for a while, and the events that transpired through the letters were inspiring. I wanted to learn more about the world my grandfather lived in, I imagined what sort of person he was to get through all of those events, and I wanted to share his experiences with the world.

It’s been an interesting time sorting through the photos and letters, seeing these images and being drawn into the early 1900’s lifestyle through the letters that my great-grandmother wrote to her son and his future wife through the war as well.It’s been very enlightening to learn about the various towns that he went through as well. Finding the information about them in that time period is somewhat difficult, but I’ve found a couple goldmines on just the subjects I needed, and I’ve also improvised a lot from what I imagine it was like just a hundred years ago. It’s odd to say it that way, but when you’re transitioning back and forth in your head as often as I am for the writing, you begin to see history differently. I’m glad to find a new perspective, and as a teaser, I’ll share one of my Grandfather’s war letters here.

Dec 11 1917.

Dear Mabel, We are still in the good old U.S.A. But I guess we won’t be here very long. Most of our baggage has gone and I guess we will be going somewhere tomorrow or next day. But I don’t know where, To France tho I think. There is no chance for me to get to come home at all. Sweet-heart, you don’t know how much I would like to be there. It would be so nice. I would feel more like going to F. if I could come home and see you and home. I didn’t think we would be here very long. This place is to nice for us to stay very long. Sweet heart, you may not get very many letters from Daddy as they say we are only allowed one letter a week so one will be yours and one mothers and mabey I will skip one to mother once in awhile. We have wrote cards already that we have arrived in France all O.K. They are all left here and when we get over there they send a wireless as a cabel that we landed all right. So after you get that card you will know we are there. I am going to try and wright some letters so you can read them up and down and across the page that is the first word of every line. Start at  the top, It will take some time to figure out a letter like that. You can tell mother when you go down there. You may be there before you get this letter.

Sweet heart, dear you don’t know how much Daddy thinks of you. I have got your picture in the face of my watch now. So you see I look at you ever little while. It is the one where you have your sweater on. I cut out your face and pasted it inside of the crystal. With love and kisses from Daddy to the only one he loves. XXX. H.E. (Printed inside the envelope: Daddy is saving all his kisses for his little girlie. Good by and good luck for I think we are gone. Don’t worry about sending me any Xmas, you will do for some Xmas present when I get back. I can’t send anything at all for we are all broke. XXXXX H.E.)

Leave a Reply

