Backgrounds and Jobs

Hey Reader! Back again are you? Awesome! Today, we’re going to talk about the to-do’s and NOT to-do’s when it comes to your background and finding a job. I’ve been perusing groups on Facebook recently again, and there’s a lot of talk about simply hiding the background. It’s easy enough to try to ignore that little box that asks about your background, but it really isn’t the best approach. Especially if you’re still in the area that you were convicted in, it is extremely easy for an employer to get wind of your conviction after they’ve hired someone who told them they were ‘clean’. The LAST thing you want to do is get caught up in a lie with a job. This sort of thing is recorded on your work record, along with refused/failed drug tests, and more. And once you’re on record lying about it, well no other employer is going to want to trust you because you’re still relying on bad habits.

Now, it’s not easy to talk about something we’d all rather forget about. I hate going into an interview simply because I know I have to bare my soul a bit to get anywhere and I’m not a sharing person. But, I’ve come to realize that one sometimes has to take steps that are not comfortable in order to get anywhere near one’s goals. So, I march my happy butt in there, plaster a smile on my face to get those happy hormones running through my system, and I start making my best first impression. Once I’ve made the good impression, talking about what I have made myself accomplish since my conviction, I go ahead and bring up that portion. I don’t wait for them to ask, it gives them the power and makes me feel like I’m a bug. So, instead, I bring it up, take the power for myself, and use the conviction to set off my achievements rather than allowing it to be framed in a poor light. Of course, it will help you if you have followed any recommendations by your PO to gain your GED at the least, and to have pushed yourself further than that when possible. Not all of us have the same story, and you’ll have to find a way to make your past a vital part of your path to success.

Of course, there are also some options available for those that have the time and determination, to avoid the entire background question LEGALLY and safely, where there won’t be more punishment and social stigma with future employers. Some states offer pardons and sealing of records, and you’ll have a number of hoops to jump through – but if you want it badly enough, it isn’t that difficult. You can do anything you put your mind to doing, don’t be afraid to push for what you really deserve. You are worthy of a job, you are worthy of respect, and you are worthy of FREEDOM from stigma and distrust. Be the change you want to be, be honest and open, and help change society’s mind about felons. We’re just humans that made mistakes, and we can overcome all the barriers life presents us.

If you need guidance getting your life on track for becoming a better person, need help researching your state laws and options, or are in need of life coaching that is focused on overcoming felonies, please find my Fiverr here, and take advantage of the super low prices I’m offering for these services.  https://www.fiverr.com/azarathia/provide-felony-rehabilitation-support

Thanks again for stopping by, see you next post!

Leave a Reply

